Tuesday, April 23, 2024
HomeCall for ApplicationsThe IOM South American Migration Journalism Award 2021

The IOM South American Migration Journalism Award 2021

Application Deadiine: 18 June 2021

The IOM Regional Office in South America is launching a call for applications from 4 May 2021 until 18 June 2021 for the second edition of the South American Migration Journalism Award.  

The award recognizes outstanding stories from the region that shed light on how migration drives sustainable development.   

Winners will receive a scholarship of USD 800 towards the production of a journalistic work and mentoring sessions provided by the Gabo Foundation to develop a story on migration and sustainable development.  

This second edition of the Award is inspired by the Global Compact for Safe, Orderly, and Regular Migration, specifically Objective 17 which aims “to eliminate all forms of discrimination and promote evidence-based public discourse to shape perceptions of migration”. The Award is also inspired by the 2030 Agenda and its link to sustainable development.  

The Award was created to celebrate journalists worldwide who bring attention to the positive impact of migration in South America to advance sustainable development.  

The award spotlights coverage that brings attention to different gender dimensions of migration, and work that debunks false and discriminatory narratives about migration and promotes balanced, evidence-based reporting.


The IOM South American Migration Journalism Award is targeted at journalists working in media organizations from the region, as well as journalists from other parts of the world covering the region.   

Applicants are requested to submit one work. In the case of group submissions, one person needs to represent the group as the main applicant and the recipient of the award if selected.  

b- Formats and journalistic genres 

Reports or stories are accepted in the following formats: articles, radio and television reports, published by a traditional or digital media outlet.   

Academic essays, opinion pieces and blog submissions will not be accepted. 

c- Languages 

Applications can be made in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.  

d- Current works will only be considered 

Journalistic works eligible for submissions need to be current, published between 1 January 2020 and 30 April 2021.  

e- Geographic coverage  

The work must be focused on subjects relating to international migration in South America. This is defined as stories or reports about migration in countries in the region including internal migration, or from outside the region with a link to countries in the region, or about South America diaspora and migrant communities residing in other parts of the world.  

f- Application form 

Submissions can only be made by completing the application form.  


There will be a total of 10 journalist winners of the prize.  

Each winning journalist will receive a scholarship for the production of a journalistic work about migration and sustainable development worth USD 800 to conduct field work and research. The story will be developed through mentoring sessions with experts from the Gabo Foundation. Selected journalists can also use the prize to conduct in-depth research into the topic they have proposed. 

A selection of the pieces developed through the mentoring sessions, as well as some of the winning submissions, will be published by IOM in both a book (digital) as well as on different digital platforms.  

The winning journalists will receive a certificate from IOM and will be invited to an award ceremony that will be broadcast live via IOM social media channels.  

Official Website: IOM South American Migration Journalism Award 2021



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular