Wednesday, June 19, 2024
HomeCall for ApplicationsUNESCO Learning City Award 2024

UNESCO Learning City Award 2024

Application Deadline: 31 May 2024.

Applications are now open for the 2024 UNESCO Learning City Award. The UNESCO Learning City Award has been established to recognize and showcase good practices in promoting quality education and lifelong learning opportunities for all at the local level. This triennial award is presented to cities in each of the five UNESCO regions that have demonstrated significant progress in learning city development by implementing the UNESCO Global Network of Learning Cities guiding documents. Only member cities of the UNESCO GNLC are eligible to apply for the UNESCO Learning City Award, which is valid for one award cycle.

Eligibility Requirements

The UNESCO Learning City Award 2024 is open to all UNESCO GNLC member cities with more than 12 months of membership in the network. Past awardees will not be eligible for the award for a period of six years following the receipt of a UNESCO Learning City Award. Consequently, the cities that received the award in 2019 and 2021, as well as those which joined the network in 2024, are ineligible this cycle.

Selection Criteria

Only those advancements made in lifelong learning development once a city has joined the GNLC are considered. Applications for the award will be evaluated according to the following criteria:

• Advancement of learning city plan;
• Advances in stakeholder coordination and partnerships;
• Progress in mobilizing and utilizing resources;
• Progress in monitoring and evaluation of learning city development;
• Advances to ensure learning is accessible to all citizens;
• Advances to foster a culture of lifelong learning;
• Advancement of innovative practices;
• Contributions to GNLC activities.

How to Apply:

To apply for the award, cities must:

  1. complete the award application form (PDFWord) and provide any additional materials (articles, videos, etc.) in support of their application;
  2. ensure the award application form is signed by the city’s mayor;
  3. sign the consent form;
  4. send the application to their country’s National Commission for UNESCO.


  • Applications are open from 22 April to 31 May 2024.
  • • The closing date for nominations by National Commissions for UNESCO is 28 June 2024.
  • • Announcement of awardees: September 2024.
  • • Award ceremony: During the sixth ICLC in December 2024

More Info: UNESCO Learning City Award



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular