Wednesday, July 24, 2024
HomeCall for ApplicationsJonathan B. Postel Service Award 2024

Jonathan B. Postel Service Award 2024

Application Deadline: 12 July 2024, 23:59 UTC

Applications are now open for the 2024 Jonathan B. Postel Service Award. The Jonathan B. Postel Service Award is presented annually to an individual or organization that has made outstanding and sustained contributions in service to the Internet community. The award is named after Dr. Jonathan B. Postel to recognize and commemorate the extraordinary stewardship he exercised throughout a 30-year career in networking.

The chosen candidate will be presented with a US$20,000 honorarium and the signature crystal engraved globe at a virtual global conference with Internet technical leaders later this year.


  • The award is focused on sustained and substantial technical contributions, service to the community, and leadership. Concerning leadership, the Postel Award Nomination Committee emphasizes candidates who have supported and enabled others in their work.
  • The nominator must include specific acts, works, contributions, and other criteria that exemplify how the nominee has been in service of the Internet and its communities, along with two references to support the nomination.

Note that self-nominations will not be accepted. Nominations involving people currently serving as Internet Society or Internet Society Foundation trustees, officers, consultants, or staff members will also not be considered.

Selection Criteria

Technical Contributions

  • The nominee has developed new technologies that have extended the Internet’s functionality or scope. Contributions may include the development of new protocols, devices, techniques, technical processes, or tools that lead to the growth, usefulness, or strength of the Internet.
  • The nominee has substantially contributed to strengthening, growing, and protecting the Internet. The impact of their work has made the Internet more available and accessible in their region or beyond.


12 July 2024, 23:59 UTC

The nomination period closes.

22 July–9 August 2024

Nomination Committee members assess nominations and draw up a list of final candidates.

12–23 August 2024

Award committee members select the 2024 awardee from shortlisted candidates through a majority vote.

27 August 2024

Virtual announcement of the awardee

2–8 November 2024

Award ceremony/reception during the week of IETF 121.

More Info: Jonathan B. Postel Service Award



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular